Seoul Day 1: Arrival

 In the plane heading to Seoul I finally watched my 1st Korean movie, Marrying the Mafia 2. Funny indeed, in fact I loved it. Should watch more Korean dramas and movies from now on.

 

 

 As usual, I hate airline food. Should have just ordered fruit platter as usual.

As we were reaching Incheon International Airport, we can see the snow capped mountains and frozen streams and some ice blocks at the sea.

 

 

Smooth landing at 4:30pm. It was cold. Yahoo! Our 1st winter, excited.

We were supposed to take the Airport Limousine Bus 6015 costing 10000 won pax. There was a Transport Information Center booth at the exit. I can see the Bus Ticket counter from inside the Arrival Hall. Since the girl manning the booth was looking chic, I just proceeded to ask her for directions. She spoke English well, very well. I guessed this trip will not be difficult at all. I stepped out to to the bus ticket counter to buy the bus ticket. It was awfully cold. The famous ahjumma attempted cut in my queue.
Nice try ahjumma! I was well trained in Singapore by the makciks in Geylang, nyonya of Chinatown and aci and bangla in Serangoon. I’ve been warned about the ahjummas, so I was prepared.

The bus driver was not too courteous but very responsible. He went around checking that we had our seat belts on. It was a bad jam out there, and it was getting dark. I do hate to arrive into a city at night, as it is kind of difficult to orientate myself. I noticed cars and vehicles were switching lanes all the time, even much more than in Singapore, KL or Bangkok. It was like “the lane is faster on the other side” mentality is worse in Seoul.

The bus alighted us right in from of our Best Western Premier Kukdo Hotel. Check-in was a breeze and we received 2 complimentary BB cream. Our hotel looked into another office building, but we can see the Namsan Tower from here. We slept for the night. A very cold night.

Leave a comment